Currently Reading

Currently reading: Cinder by Marissa Meyer.

Saturday, 24 September 2011

Review Round-Up: Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick, Swim The Fly by Don Calame and Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Okay... so I mentioned that I will be doing some posts like this where I review several books in one post... so here goes:

___

Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick

The second book in Fitzpatrick's phenomenally successful Hush, Hush saga, this book see's Patch and Nora go through another roller-coaster of emotion, love, hate, heartache and drama. 

I enjoyed this book even more than I did Hush, Hush and I have to admit I didn't think I would. From the beginning, this book felt darker and more brooding and reached a stunning climax. One can only begin to wonder what Becca has in store for us all in Silence which is out in a few short weeks... ARGH! I cannot wait. Becca's writing is so beautiful and endearing. It pulls me in every time I happen to catch a glimpse. 

5/5.

___

This book made me snigger, snort, laugh and even cry when I read it towards the start of Summer. A gang of teenage mates who are all trying to reach a goal by the end of the Summer holidays... to see a real life girl... actually naked. It made me laugh and reminded me of when I was at school and how I was with my mates. A nostalgic read that will have you in fits of laughter!!

4/5.








___

This dystopian beauty is not for the faint hearted and is easily one of my top reads this year. Coming in at nearly 600 pages, the book is quite literally a brick. But do not be put off by its size. Because on the inside it's a real corker.

Written with brilliant skill, and in a weird yet entrancing way (you have to read it to see what I man by that...) you cannot help but be hooked, drawn in the world of Blood Red Road and get caught up in a dangerous and deadly adventure. The design inside is so cool too! With some loveable characters who you come to really care for by the end of the book, and an impending sense of danger and innocence, this book is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and The Maze Runner. A film is in production so it's definitely one to watch out for. Why not read the book first? We all know the books are better!

5/5.

2 comments:

  1. The second book sounds like something I'd read. I admit.... I haven't read Becca Fitzpatrick. Yet. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I can't wait for Silence either. I'm sure it'll be worth the wait! :)

    ReplyDelete